Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

I'm a newb, but what about putting the pad IN the bag

I'm a complete newb to this hammock stuff. I just received an inexpensive hammock from Amazon yesterday. Thanks to Grand Trunk for having such a great little hammock for a guy to try at under 20 dollars.

It's 32 degrees out, the skies are clear and there is a beautiful half moon tonight. The wind is cycling up and down through the trees. I spent the last 20 minutes getting situated in the Ultralight, with an Exped Synmat 7 pump and a 20 degree Ledge bag.

The pad is VERY deflated -- from what I gathered from reading here it needs to be. After popping off of it over and over again while getting 'centered' I had the crazy idea to slide it INSIDE my sleeping bag.

It works GREAT!

It's right where I want it to be, I can feel warmth radiating from my backside, and it's not slipping/popping any more. ...and just now my dog came to visit, and is wanting to get in! DOWN BOY -- NO DOGS IN HAMMOCKS.

I'm going to post this, close the lid, and settle in for a bit. See you guys in the morning. I'm still learning, but I can already see why you guys do this weird tree hangin' stuff.

G'night John Boy.
    Are you a Grizzleman?

Senior Member backpackingZombie's Avatar
    Hammock
    DB 1.1
    Tarp
    CCS 8'x10'
    Insulation
    Arroyo & Jarbridge
    Suspension
    Whoopies + toggles
    I'd say that it's fine if it works for you

There's no wrong or right way to accomplish your goal as long as you're comfortable and safe.

Hammock
    DIY Stretch-Side
    Tarp
    DIY Cat Cut Hex
    Insulation
    Phoenix and Nest
    Suspension
    cinch buckles
    Images
    Let us know how it goes. Like bZ said, if it works for you...

If you're not familiar with them, Big Agnes sleeping bags do what you're proposing but in their case there's no insulation in the under side of the bag. Just a slot into which you slip a pad.
    Knotty
    "Don't speak unless it improves the silence." -proverb