Argon X90 Experimental hammock
    Tarp
    7'x9' cuben tarp
    Insulation
    Pads and quilts
    Suspension
    Kevlar + dynaglide
    Images

DIY pole mod for hammock tarps - no sew, use your trekking poles.

Howdy folks. I haven't been around in a while, I've been busy doing stuff like updating my guidebook, hiking, working, etc. Anyhow I thought I might come over here and share something I started playing with the other day...

Background: HOI had mentioned getting a pole mod done to his tarp, and when HOI mentions something, I learned a long time ago it is probably a good idea to pay attention to him. To that point I hadn't really thought much about them, even though I have seen some nice pics of some. A day after that discussion I went on a hike about 100 miles, so I had a lot of time to think about how to do it and be light, the desire was to not add anything, or much of anything to my kit, especially when I am still trying to keep the hammock under a pound. It also helps if whatever I carried could do something else like be a pack frame or a fishing pole, or something.

Then I spent a night at a shelter in the Smokies (no I didn't sleep in the shelter) with a thru-hiker using a LightHeart tent. If you haven't seen one (I know most of you are like me and hardly notice tents) it has a cool way of making an A frame using hiking poles: http://www.lightheartgear.com/LightHeart_Gear/Home.html

I got the idea that maybe I could make a pole mod that used my hiking poles in a similar manner. When I got back I did some looking around and then started playing with it. Today I finished making the prototype mods to my gear and I'm taking it out at the end of the month for 100 miles of the BMT to test drive it:

]Finish product - about 30 grams added to the my entire packing list:
    3 grams added to the tarp
    25 grams for the pole joiner
    2 grams added to the poles