Tarp
    HG Cuben
    Insulation
    WB Yeti, DIY TQ
    Suspension
    Cinch Buckles

Looking for a good 2 nighter in Maryland

All,

I'm relatively new to backbacking and hiking. So far, I've got about 10 overnights under my belt, mostly in hiker-biker campsites along the C&O canal. Does anyone have any suggestions of good places in Maryland that I could leave my car and hike out for a couple of nites? I'm thinking of the AT, but I'd rather not drive all the way to Pen-Mar or Harpers Ferry if I don't need to.

I'm in Rockville, MD, just outside of DC if that helps.

Thanks.
    - Norm

Hammock
    WBBB 1.1DL
    Tarp
    CTF3 Cuben
    Insulation
    Phoenix 3S, GoLite
    Suspension
    Stock
    Images
    Shenandoah NP may be beyond the range you're hoping for, but overnight opportunities abound. Out and backs, loops, the AT, and wilderness trails galore. 90 mins or so from Rockville maybe?
    “Simplicity in all things is the secret of the wilderness and one of its most valuable lessons. I think the matter of simplicity goes further than just food, equipment, and unnecessary gadgets; it goes into the matter of thoughts and objectives as well. When in the wilds, we must not carry our problems with us or the joy is lost.” -Sigurd Olson

Hammock
    DIY Bridge
    Tarp
    Etowah, gargoyle
    Insulation
    Wool, heater
    Suspension
    Varies
    Images
    I wish I could remember the parking area, but there is a spot to get on the AT just outside Frederick. Its been so long I havent a clue where it is. But the AT crosses 70.

Hammock
    Speer DIY, WBBB
    Tarp
    HG Cuben
    Insulation
    WB Yeti, DIY TQ
    Suspension
    Cinch Buckles
    Thanks guys.

Flangler - been drooling over SNP for a while. That may be the call.

Opie - Frederick would be ideal. If you end up remembering the place, please shoot me a PM. Thanks.
    - Norm

Hammock
    1.7 SL WBTraveler
    Tarp
    HG 4-season Cuben
    Insulation
    Burrow and Phoenix
    Suspension