Tarp
    WL Tadpole
    Insulation
    LeighLo quilts
    Suspension
    Cinch buckles
    Images

UQ ideas?

Ok,so I am just getting into hammock camping and have a hammock and decided on the tarp to order, I figure on using my current synthetic sleeping bag, but need to look into bottom insulation. I dont like the idea of a pad, so I am leaning toward an UQ. I cant drop the money for a ready made right now but I have looked into several DIY ideas. I live in TN and right now the temps are still getting into the 40-50 range at night. Anybody have a suggestion on which style of DIY might work best for me? I do have a sewing machine and can sew fairly well. I just need experienced input. I am a warm sleeper, but dont know how to factor everything in to meet my needs.

Hammock
    Wilderness Logics Night/Lite Owls
    Tarp
    WL-TP/OMW/BF
    Insulation
    WL-TQ/UQ x3
    Suspension
    Dutch-n-Whopies
    Images
    check out this thread.
    maybe have a look at your local thrift shop for a sleeping bag that can be re-purposed into a custom UQ.
    there are several DIY UQ threads.
    best,

Hammock
    DIY gathered end
    Tarp
    Hinterland gear
    Insulation
    down bag
    Suspension
    strap & E.T.'s
    Images
    Sclittlefield's DIY IX underquilt is easy and works good. I have also converted old sleeping bags into UQ's.
    Good luck,
    RED

My Youtube Channel

Deep peace of the running wave to you.
    Deep peace of the flowing air to you.
    Deep peace of the quiet earth to you.
    Deep peace of the shining stars to you.
    Deep peace without end to you.
    adapted from - ancient gaelic runes

Hammock
    Warbonnet Traveller
    Tarp
    WL Tadpole
    Insulation
    LeighLo quilts
    Suspension
    Cinch buckles
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by Redoleary View Post
    Sclittlefield's DIY IX underquilt is easy and works good. I have also converted old sleeping bags into UQ's.