Tarp
    AHE Shangri La
    Insulation
    JRB MW3 or HHSS
    Suspension
    Whoopies
    Images

UQ in wet weather?

I am planning a through hike of the Border Route through the Boundary Waters of northern Minnesota in May, and my experience from prior backpacking outings on the SHT in May is that it will be wet. I will probably be making camp several times in the rain.

I am a hammock newbie, the proud owner of a new HH Explorer Ultralight with the stock tarp. I am debating whether to outfit myself for this trip with an UQ, or go with the Hennessey SS. I believe either will give me adequate comfort and warmth, my main concern is keeping an UQ dry on a weeklong hike.

My feeling is that whatever I use will get wet at some point, either from blowing rain or setting up in the rain, and I would think that the SS would be much easier to dry out and less susceptible to problems with its overcover.

Anyone with any experience with this?

TIA,

-Kurt

Hammock
    GrizzBridge Ariel
    Tarp
    HG Cuben Winter
    Insulation
    DIY UQ
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by kwpapke View Post
    I am planning a through hike of the Border Route through the Boundary Waters of northern Minnesota in May, and my experience from prior backpacking outings on the SHT in May is that it will be wet. I will probably be making camp several times in the rain.

I am a hammock newbie, the proud owner of a new HH Explorer Ultralight with the stock tarp. I am debating whether to outfit myself for this trip with an UQ, or go with the Hennessey SS. I believe either will give me adequate comfort and warmth, my main concern is keeping an UQ dry on a weeklong hike.

My feeling is that whatever I use will get wet at some point, either from blowing rain or setting up in the rain, and I would think that the SS would be much easier to dry out and less susceptible to problems with its overcover.

Anyone with any experience with this?

TIA,

-Kurt
    Hi Kurt,