Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Long-Term Hammock Durability

Hello everyone, I'm new to hammock camping but I've convinced myself that it's the direction I want to go insofar as collecting up my own camping gear. I want a hammock which I could use **** near all the time without repair and replacement. For the sake of this discussion, please assume that I am going out into the wilderness to catalogue new species, and want something dependable and requiring as little upkeep as possible. What would be likely to fail first? Zippers / Velcro on bug nuts (e.g. Hennessey vs. Clark)? Fraying or damage of the hammock structure? If I have a well enclosed model, should I worry about mildew inside from night after night of my own body's moisture? I'm sure that this is different for every individual commercial model, so if there are specific models that seem well suited to lasting for a long time with minimal maintenance, I'd appreciate your experience and sage advice.

Hammock
    HH Expedition,HH Scout ,DIY rigs
    Tarp
    Chinnock Tarps
    Insulation
    Sb & DYI UQ
    Howdy from Texas...
    I am not sure if I have had to do any maintnance on any of my hammocks since 2009.
    I use my Hennessy Expedition the most due to it having the attached bug net. This hammock had the zipper mod done by 2Q and has held up well.
    Regardless of the brand of the hammock, just a little care while in use, like not setting up close to a fire so the ambers dont end up on your bug net or sleep with a sharp object that could poke a hole or store it when wet or damp you outta get your moneys worth regardless what you are doing in the
    wilderness.
    I guess you can set your self up on a routine system inspection schedule, apply bar soap to the zippers every 1500 hours or so and keep a needle and thread and a roll of duct tape in a repair kit.
    "Proud Pound Hawg"
    Republic of Texas H.O.G. (Hennessy Owners Group)

Hammock