Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Images

Old used sewing machine advice

I am going to get this sewing machine that is very old from my mom, so I can start making my own gear! Woo hoo!

My question is, what would you advise me to do to get this machine up and running? Should I just plug it in, and see what it can do, or would you advise taking it to a shop to get it checked out? I am a total novice to sewing, and I am not sure that I would know what to look for...what are your thoughts?

Hammock
    DIY Bridge
    Tarp
    DIY 11x10
    Insulation
    DIY UQ & down bag
    I think that I would get it, plug it in, give it a good dose of machine oil, blow out the excess oil and try to sew with it. If everthing works good, your good to go. If there are problems then you may consider the shop. If you go to the shop take some samples of the type of fabric that you will be working with so that they can adjust it and show you how to adjust for different fabrics.

Images
    I would plug it in and give it a whirl too. After that I would take it in and get it a tune up. If it doesn't have a manual, ask to be shown where to oil it and how much/often.
    Is that too much to ask? Girls with frikkin' lasers on their heads?
    The hanger formly known as "hammock engineer".

Hammock
    My DIY 10.5'X5' speer style
    Tarp
    PW 10X12 Cathedral
    Insulation
    PW Comforter Quilt
    Suspension
    1"poly webbing
    Images
    You might try this site here. Amanda gets stuff from this guy, and he really nows how to help.

Hope this helps,
    Dwight
    Psalm 19:1-3 "The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork. Day unto day uttereth speech, and night unto night sheweth knowledge. There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard."

Images
    Thanks, everyone!

So, I would like to do the things from that site, but I am completely unfamiliar with the parts! Oh well, I guess I will have to learn them sometime, anyhow...