Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Hammock
    Clark Jungle Hammock
    Tarp
    Speer Winter Tarp
    Insulation
    Speer Underquilt

Down vs. polyester fil

I'm just curious if there's a reason people are using down vs. polyester fill for their quilts? It seems the poly would be safer, as far as getting it wet goes?

I'm a quilter and this looks like an easy project, but before I get started, just wondered what the pros/cons of down/poly were to the old timers?

I've just purchased my hammock so I have NO experience yet.
    Going out next weekend for the first time!
    YAY!

Hammock
    Dual Layer WB Blackbird
    Tarp
    OES Cuben
    Insulation
    SnugFit
    Images
    Down is a great insulator and it takes less down to achieve a certain temp rating than synthetic insulation, resulting in a lighter piece of gear. Down also compresses better than synthetic insulation, giving less bulk in your pack. I also think down holds up better over time and is better at keeping it's loft. I also think that down products feel more comfortable.
    “Light thinks it travels faster than anything but it is wrong. No matter how fast light travels, it finds the darkness has always got there first, and is waiting for it." -Terry Pratchett

Premium Quality, Fresh Roasted Coffee
    www.meancatcoffee.com

Images
    I have used both. The clear advantage of down is compressibility. Takes up much less pack space. There is also a slight weight advantage, but considering the weight of the shell it may not really be all that significant.

If you're concerned with getting your quilt wet, go with Climashield XP or similar. If you're more concerned with bulk and weight, go with down. Either works great, and making a down quilt is not any harder than making a synthetic quilt. It's all personal preference.

Hammock
    ENO Double Nest
    Tarp
    Still looking
    Insulation
    KAQ, Speer
    What they said!