Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
    Hammock
    WBBB Dbl. 1.7

Animals, Hammocks and you!

New to hanging, but not new to tent camping. I'd like to hear some of your stories of things that went bump in the night.

Hammock
    Darien UL
    Tarp
    Tadpole
    Suspension
    NCAA
    I had a cow ant crawl down my suspension line and into my WB Traveler with detachable net the other night. It was pretty tricky getting out of there without him falling on me. He was pretty huge, they are actually wingless wasps.

Hammock
    WBBB
    Tarp
    SUPERFLY!!!
    Insulation
    No Sniv & Yeti
    Suspension
    Whoopies
    I'm fairly new to hanging, so in my limited experience I've only had one incident where something bumped my rear. It woke me up, but by the time I cleared my fuzzy eyes it was gone. I had seen rabbits nearby in some tall grass nearby earlier that evening, so that's probably what it was. I used to worry about stuff having fairly unfettered access to me during the night -- not so much anymore.

Hammock
    Papa Smurf Dream Hammock
    Tarp
    WL Big Daddy
    Insulation
    Custom TQ and UQ
    Suspension
    Whoopie!

Red Rover

My 50 lbs Pit bull mix bumps me and that's it!

Hammock
    Lite Owl; Light Hiker
    Tarp
    Toxaway;MacCat Dlx
    Insulation
    Burrow; Incubator
    Suspension
    Whoopies
    I usually hear but never see. Squirrels and bunnies are the only critters I've seen while in the hammock. I don't count the black bear because I wasn't in the hammock. Although I did just climb in and put my headphones on while he rummaged around. If I can hear 'em they ain't there.
    JaxHiker aka Kudzu - WFA
    Florida Trail Association: NE FL Trail Coordinator (Gold Head to Stephen Foster)
    Trail Issues? Please let me know.
    Blazing Trails with Kudzu @ www.idratherbehiking.com
    Follow me @idratherbhiking

Hammock
    WarbonnetBlackbird
    Tarp
    Olive Superfly
    Insulation
    Incubat Dempsey TQ
    Suspension
    Stock Webbing