Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Hammock
    ENO DN/Brazilian
    Suspension
    DIY whoopies

Talking Question about Sewing Tree Straps

I have nylon tree straps, and I am very unhappy with how much they stretch. I am completely in awe of, and overwhelmed by, how many proper ways there are to hang.

After lots of reading, I have decided that I am going to make some whoopie slings.

So for the tree straps, should I use dutch clips, or carabiners? Couldn't I just double the strap over and sew a loop and not need the hardware?

Will a home sewn loop hold if I use the square and X pattern? Or if I do need the hardware can I just sew them onto some polyester webbing and that will hold? I have a good machine, but nothing else I have sewn has has that much pull on such a small area, so I am wary.

Obviously I am a noob, so any advice would be very much appreciated!

Hammock
    G-Bird II/Bridge
    Tarp
    Ogee tarp
    Insulation
    DIY TQ DIY Down UQ
    Suspension
    whoopies
    Images
    Loops are fine for a no hardware approach. You'll need to feed the webbing completely thru the eye at set-up and take down. Make sure to cinch them down good. If they slide against the webbing, they'll be issues with wear.

Box stitch and x stitch is fine. Use good thread. NOT COTTON.
    I usually sew eyes on both ends, makes the strap universal.
    If you decide to add hardware down the road either the DC or carabiner will work in the loop. Just add a hand stitch to lock the DC in.

Welcome.
    Ambulo tua ambulo.

Hammock
    WBBB 1.1dbl,Hennessy Exped
    Tarp
    WB Super fly
    Insulation
    HG tq/uq (soon)
    Suspension
    diy whoopie
    Images
    If you get some thick polyester thread for this you should be fine. If in doubt, throw an extra line or two of stitches in there. You can also add security by lengthening the sewn area.

Hammock
    DIY Lazy Ryvr Bridge, Ridge Runner
    Tarp
    Hard Rock Shelter