Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hi from WA

Hammock
    ENO DN
    Suspension
    Whoopie sling
    Images

Hi from WA

Hi everyone. I'm brand new to hammocking...here's how I got into it.

-Surfing on the Kickstarter site two weeks ago. Saw the Kammok. Thought "that would be a fun thing to do in the backyard. And oooh, my birthday is in two weeks!"
    -Look on REI and see the ENO hammocks for cheaper.
    -Decide that's what I want for my birthday and I tell my husband.
    -We go to REI that Friday and I pick out my ENO DN, Slapstraps and two carabiners. Husband buys them.
    -My birthday isn't for two weeks, but I'm so excited, I start surfing more about hammocks.
    -Find Hammock Forums.
    -Find out that SlapStraps are not the way to go but whoopie slings are.
    -I'm a crafty person so I'm totally into making my own whoopie slings.
    -Order 50' of 7/64" blue Amsteel Blue from Redden Marine the following week. Then order tree straps from AHE a day later. Then order SMC descending rings a day later from whoopieslings.com.
    -Amsteel Blue arrives first. Start on my first splice...dang, my paper clip threading idea didn't work.
    -Told friend about Amsteel Blue and he puts an order in...I ask him to add 10' orange for me.
    -Go to Joanns during lunch the next day to buy yarn needles
    -Returned my SlapStraps
    -Come home from work and start my splice again...MUCH easier
    -Finish one whoopie sling
    -Finish second whoopie sling the next day and two soft shackles
    -As soon as descending rings came, made my continuous loops using the orange Amsteel Blue as well as two more soft shackles
    -Have enough Amsteel Blue left over so decide to make another whoopie sling to use as a ridgeline for the suspension sag

So in one week, I learned how to splice and make: three whoopie slings, 4 soft shackles, two continuous loops.