ENO DN
    Tarp
    Kelty Noah's 12'
    Insulation
    Bag/Pad
    Suspension
    Whoopie Sling

Ridgeline Question

I tried a ridgeline with an amsteel whoopee sling I made on my ENO DN a few months ago, but it twanged and felt extremely tight. So I shelved it for the time being because I just wasn't sure if I did it right. Lately I have been thinking about it because I want to reattach it for the ENO bug net I just received.

I'm not very good at physics but my assumption was that the farther apart the trees are the more weight gets transferred across the ridgeline. The only other way to alleviate the weight distribution would be to put the tree straps farther up on the tree. But when you are vertically challenged like me (5'7") there's only so high one can reach.

Since I'm thinking that the length of the ridge line should always be x inches to achieve 30°, should I be concerned about the weight distribution across the ridgeline or is there something that I haven't discovered on the forum that might help my setup?

Thanks in advance,

Dave

Hammock
    Warbonnet Ridgerunner
    Tarp
    Superfly
    Insulation
    Lynx or Pads
    Suspension
    Straps and Biners
    Images

Embrace the Twang

The "twang" is fine. Mine turns my whole hammock into a nice bass drum if I strum it.

The ridgeline is there to do exactly what you're asking it for, keep your hammock the same shape regardless of how you hang it. So you can pull the hammock tight and tie it low on the trees or hang it high to get close to a 30 degree. Either way the shape and lay of the hammock should be the same. The flatter you hang it the tighter the ridgeline will be. So it's not the distance between the trees but how "flat" you try to hang.