Grand Trunk single
    Tarp
    Hay cover
    Insulation
    DIY fleece
    Suspension
    Whoopies

Soggy Problem

I apologize if this should be in a different area, wasn't sure if I have a problem with suspension, tarp or both - but KNOW I have a problem with weather protection. I'm very new to hammocks. Labor Day weekend on my first hammock outing, I stayed warm and dry as TS Lee roared through the GA/NC/SC mountains, thanks to advice from the forums. Now I've got my hammock set up on the back porch while I learn more and upgrade tarp, UQ, and suspension.

Tonight we had a much needed thunderstorm and everything is soaked. Same big plastic tarp as before, but hung by two lines rather than over the ridgeline I used previously. And I've changed the hammock suspension by adding a ridgeline, previously just had the whoopies and lucked out finding trees the right distance apart. From the drip marks, it appears that water - a LOT of water - ran down the whoopies and kept right on going onto the ridgeline, past the drip lines I intended to divert the water. Then it dripped over the center of the hammock. The ends are fairly dry, it is definitely the center which is soaked.

I should have taken pics, but didn't think before I had pulled everything apart to dry. Any ideas what I'm doing wrong and how to do better? Thanks so much!

Images
    As a suggestion:

I've added an amsteel continuous loop to each end of my hammock. You can use a Decending Ring or Dutch Biner to connect your whoopie sling at this point. This will make a much better rain drip.

whoopieslings.com has the Decending ring @ .4oz/each $2.75/each

JacksrBetter had the Dutch Biner @ .7oz/pair $18.95/pair

Both site have the amsteel continuous loop.

both very light and more than strong enough.

Hammock
    Grand Trunk single
    Tarp
    Hay cover
    Insulation
    DIY fleece
    Suspension
    Whoopies