Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

How to align 2 layers to sew?

Can someone please recommend a method to sew together the 2 layers in a double bottom hammock?

My problem is that on the side with the pad insertion opening, the gap portions of the dbl layers (for pad insertion) aren't aligning correctly after I sew them together. There's usually a half inch difference for each gap I leave.

This causes the lay to be funny as one side is tighter (the other side where I sew the full length of both layers together is fine).

Hammock
    HH Expedition
    Tarp
    HH
    Insulation
    KA Potomac UQ
    Suspension
    1" webbing
    You are pinning them together before you start aren't you? I'm a newbie at sewing myself and I found out real quick that it really pays to take your time when pinning a project together. A good pinning job means an easier sewing job?

(We need a sewing Smiley)

Quote Originally Posted by easyriver View Post
    You are pinning them together before you start aren't you? I'm a newbie at sewing myself and I found out real quick that it really pays to take your time when pinning a project together. A good pinning job means an easier sewing job?
    I did put pins but maybe not enough? I did not pin where I wasn't going to sew (the gaps). I'm not sure how best to square the layers before I pin them either.

Hammock
    DIY, WBBB & Switchback
    Tarp
    HG cuben,OES Spinn
    Insulation
    DIY 3/4 UQ/TQ, UGQ
    Suspension
    Dynaglide / Dutch
    Images
    What I do is make a mark along each piece of fabric exactly 12" apart. When I line up the fabric to sew, I make sure these marks are also lined up.

As the two layers of material go through the machine's foot, one layer can scoot a tiny bit more than the other. I'm told a walking foot helps with this, but I don't know. Also, as I feed the two layers through, I have to be careful not to tension one layer more than the other.