Tarp
    WB superfly
    Insulation
    various UGQ's
    Suspension
    ENO Atlas straps
    Images

Newbie Condinsation?

I'm trying to understand where the water vapor condenses when using an under quilt, I have never used a UQ before, I understand it in terms of a sleeping pad and tent, I have always found it under my pad when winter camping, but with a hammock your not in direct contact with the ground and I would like to know where it hapens and the methods used to prevent it or should I say deal with it.

Hammock
    WB Traveler
    Tarp
    ZPacks CF
    Insulation
    Te-Wa / HG / WB
    Suspension
    Whoopie Hooks
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by bmwrider View Post
    I'm trying to understand where the water vapor condenses when using an under quilt, I have never used a UQ before, I understand it in terms of a sleeping pad and tent, I have always found it under my pad when winter camping, but with a hammock your not in direct contact with the ground and I would like to know where it hapens and the methods used to prevent it or should I say deal with it.
    Generally speaking, there should be none. Most underquilts are made with breathable fabric so they don't collect any moisture. Unless you add a vapor barrier layer to your insulation (or have an UQ made with a non-breathable shell), your body heat will either evaporate any moisture or force it all the way through the layers to exit.

Avoiding condensation is what led the Jacks (JRB) to make the first underquilt prototypes around 2005.

Here is a good thread about the topic.
    “I think that when the lies are all told and forgot the truth will be there yet. It dont move about from place to place and it dont change from time to time. You cant corrupt it any more than you can salt salt.” - Cormac McCarthy

Hammock
    WB Traveler 1.7 single
    Tarp
    HG Cuben
    Insulation
    Incubator & Burrow
    Suspension
    Whoopies/MSH/strap
    Images