hammock weights and uses?

I'm just getting started in this and know very little. You guys keep talking about all these upgrades, add ons, and other accessories. Just wondering what your whole set-up weighs after all is said and done? I personally like to keep it lite and simple. Also would like to know how far and long you guys are takeing hammocks?

Hammock
    WB Traveler
    Tarp
    ZPacks CF
    Insulation
    Te-Wa / HG / WB
    Suspension
    Whoopie Hooks
    Images
    Many of the modifications and accessories that are discussed on the forum are either functional replacements for standard hammock equipment, or are added for dealing with specific environments (cold, heat, etc). Also, a lot of the materials used for the mods are lightweight in nature (nylon, silnylon, dyneema/spectra cording, etc).

The final weights of various setups varies wildly, depending on the hammock type and where it is being used. That being said, my typical summer-use setup ranges in the 3-3.5 lb range and includes hammock, pad, tarp, top quilt.

Members here have taken hammocks from jungle excursions through the rainforests of S. America to Snowshoe treks through northern Ontario, the outback of Austrailia, the forests of Japan and Hong Kong, even juggling festivals in the UK, and all points in between. The distances include simple backyard nap excursions to multi-month thru-hikes.

Stick around and read. You'll be amazed.
    Last edited by angrysparrow; 05-02-2008 at 14:31.
    “I think that when the lies are all told and forgot the truth will be there yet. It dont move about from place to place and it dont change from time to time. You cant corrupt it any more than you can salt salt.” - Cormac McCarthy

Images