Tarp
    DIY Tarp w/ doors
    Insulation
    Pad
    Suspension
    O-rings

Questions About A-Sym

Hey All!
    First of all, I'd like to introduce myself – my name is Nelson, and I am soon to be a hanger.
    I say "soon to be" because I have yet to actually own a hammock, but that is what I am trying to fix right now. I've decided to make my own, and I am seeking help on making an A-sym. Here are a couple questions I have:

1. Is it possible to make an A-sym hammock without using tie-down points?
    2. Would you recommend using single 1.9 Nylon Ripstop or double 1.1 Nylon Ripstop?
    3. For wind/weather proofing, would you recommend using a tarp or bivvy?

I am very new to all of this "hanging stuff", so I would appreciate any constructive input. What I am seeking out of my Hammock is something I can comfortably sleep in, and I am not necessarily looking for anything super light-weight, but I would obviously like it as light as possible. I would also like to be protected from the rain and cold temperatures as much as possible; however, I am not planning on taking this winter camping. If anybody has any advice regarding the above questions or anything else that you would expect a new-comer to overlook, please chime in!
    Oh, and by the way, if you own a hammock, you are currently one of my heroes!
    Happy Hangin',
    Nelson

Hammock
    DIY Gathered End
    Tarp
    DIY Asym
    Insulation
    DIY Modular Quilt
    Suspension
    Whoopies/MSH
    Images
    To answer your questions in order: