Thread: NJ Pine Barrens

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Hammock
    WB Trav
    Insulation
    HG Burrow/Phoenix

NJ Pine Barrens

I finally convinced my boyfriend that hammocks might be better than tents so I'm in the very initial stages of planning a 4-5 day hike through the barrens. I've done some car camping there so I'm somewhat familiar with their rules on tent camping and dogs, but I'm new to hammocks and to backpacking so I do have some other questions:

When you hammock camp in the pine barrens do you set up camp wherever you want, or do you stay to the assigned tent areas?

If you're not in one of their assigned campsites do you need to have a permit?

Have any of you taken your dogs with you on a multi night trip, and if so do you try to stay evenings at one of their dog friendly sites?

I do not want to step on toes with the hammocks nor the dog. I am planning on some day and overnight hikes between now and then as well.

Thanks

Images
    Quote Originally Posted by brownham View Post
    I finally convinced my boyfriend that hammocks might be better than tents so I'm in the very initial stages of planning a 4-5 day hike through the barrens. I've done some car camping there so I'm somewhat familiar with their rules on tent camping and dogs, but I'm new to hammocks and to backpacking so I do have some other questions:

When you hammock camp in the pine barrens do you set up camp wherever you want, or do you stay to the assigned tent areas?

If you're not in one of their assigned campsites do you need to have a permit?

Have any of you taken your dogs with you on a multi night trip, and if so do you try to stay evenings at one of their dog friendly sites?

I do not want to step on toes with the hammocks nor the dog. I am planning on some day and overnight hikes between now and then as well.

Thanks
    these are the pine barren sites http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?msid=...3a9bda1e&msa=0