Thread: Newbie Question

Newbie Question

I've been lurking for a week or two and yesterday I finally decided to order a couple of the Claytor Expeditions with the small rain fly. I'm relatively new to backpacking and totally new to hanging while backpacking.

My question is, approximately what temperature should I expect to be comfortable to with Walmart Blue Foam inserted in the pocket under the hammock with a 20 degree bag? What about with a 1.5 in self inflating pad?

I'm planning on being in the Rockies during July/August. From the best I can tell, I can expect lows in the upper 30's to lower 40's.

Hammock
    JRB Bear Mtn. Bridge
    Tarp
    BlackCat/JRB 11x10
    Insulation
    Pad(s)/JRB Quilts
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by freakflyer9999 View Post
    I've been lurking for a week or two and yesterday I finally decided to order a couple of the Claytor Expeditions with the small rain fly. I'm relatively new to backpacking and totally new to hanging while backpacking.

My question is, approximately what temperature should I expect to be comfortable to with Walmart Blue Foam inserted in the pocket under the hammock with a 20 degree bag? What about with a 1.5 in self inflating pad?

I'm planning on being in the Rockies during July/August. From the best I can tell, I can expect lows in the upper 30's to lower 40's.
    Welcome to the forum.

How comfy you are with pads will depend on factors such as being a warm/cold sleeper, hydration/nutrition, what your using as clothing, as well as others.
    A wally world 3/8" thick closed cell pad would get me down to around 35-40 degrees.
    Always remember to prepare for temps at least 10-15 degrees colder than you are expecting. Especially where your going.
    Scroll down to the bottom of this site and it will give some aproximate temp rating on pads. www.speerhammocks.com/Products/SPE.htm

Also be sure to check out this great site. www.tothewoods.net/HammockCamping.html He is a member here.