Tarp
    Chinook
    Insulation
    DIY TQ/Phoenix UQ
    Suspension
    Whoopies

Help with Tarp Repair needed

Hello all,

I had a mishap with the tarp over the weekend and now I need to repair it. I am thinking I should patch and sew this rip but I have never done a repair before so any and all advice is much appreciated. An easy to follow how-to on stitching nylon would be great also..... I feel myself catching the diy bug. I've got some GE silicone 2 and the stuff sac for the patch job. The tarp is a 12' x 9.6' guide tarp from Chinook.

Thanks everybody
    Attached Images Attached Images

Hammock
    DIY or Bonefire Whisper
    Tarp
    DIY Silpoly
    Insulation
    Incubator, Burrow
    Suspension
    Bonefire Deluxe
    Images
    That's a pretty good tear. First, the Chinook tarp is probably NOT silnylon, if it's like the one I've seen before. Second, you don't need to worry about the repair being sealed because it's at the edge of the tarp.

Third, because it's at a tie out, you will definitely need to sew a patch on it. There's already a reinforcing patch sewn at that tie out. I would make another the same size and follow the stitching that's already there. It look like the existing stitching stopped the rip from going any farther. I would also add a couple of lines of stitches perpendicular to the edge, to the left and right of the grommet, up to the existing stitch lines. Make sense?

Hope this helps.

Hammock
    WBBB 1.1 dbl
    Tarp
    Chinook
    Insulation
    DIY TQ/Phoenix UQ
    Suspension
    Whoopies