WB Ridge Runner
    Tarp
    WB Cloudburst
    Insulation
    Down all the way!
    Suspension
    Whoopies
    Images

How much will a pad between hammock and UQ help?

I have a 20 degree UQ and will be going out in colder weather. If I use a Ridgerest too, what would be a reasonable temp range? I do realize that we all sleep different but generally has anyone tried this? Is there a mathematical rule for how R value affects temp range? Thanks
    vtrek

Hammock
    Dogger
    Suspension
    Whoopie
    Images
    I think everyone feels "cold" at different temperatures. I would set up in the yard and do a test run one night. That way you can always go inside if you are miserable. Then you will know whether or not you need more insulation.

Hammock
    BB1.0 double
    Tarp
    Hybrid Cuben F.
    Insulation
    Down & IX
    Suspension
    BB straps,whoopies
    Quote Originally Posted by vtrek View Post
    I have a 20 degree UQ and will be going out in colder weather. If I use a Ridgerest too, what would be a reasonable temp range? I do realize that we all sleep different but generally has anyone tried this? Is there a mathematical rule for how R value affects temp range? Thanks
    vtrek
    Do you already know what the lowest temp you can sleep at just using your 20 degree UQ??? Have you tested it? If you have then yes, adding the ridgerest will lower THAT temp. But by how much?? You again would need to test to find out.

When I'm going camping, I check the weather for what the night time temps are "supposed" to be. Then I make sure I pack UQ's that are rated at least 20+ degrees lower. This is what I need stay warm. Are you a warm sleeper or a cold sleeper? Do you normally get really warm with your 20 degree UQ in warmer temps or really warm in colder temps too? The ridgerest will increase the under temps ratings but from what... to what?? Only you can test and find out what works for you.

Senior Member ringtail-THFKAfood's Avatar
    Hammock