Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Hammock
    HH Exped Asym
    Insulation
    DIY Down UQ
    Suspension
    Whoopies

What sort of dn mods can i do for weight savings?

I currently have a stock dn, pro fly, guardian, and slapstraps. I'm very interested in going ul and myog. I've been hanging for a couple years and thought I knew what I was doing until I found y'all. I'll be getting my first sewing machine in a few days and I'm wondering a few things. One, getting rid of the current suspension, 2, I'm wondering if its possible to sew a bug net to the dn itself and add a horizontal zipper or Velcro. Also open to any and all weight/space saving ideas you can throw at me. Thanks!

You may be better off trying to sell your DN and getting a skeeter beeter.. but I imagine you can sew on a bugnet w/ zipper if you got the skills. search diy integrated bug net.

There's also lighter versions of tarps in the same price range and coverage as the profly, maybe check WildernessLogics.com

You already said you're switching out the suspension so good to go there.

That's my $.02

Insulation is where you really start making weight savings but is also where you really start spending money

Hammock
    WL Lite Owl
    Tarp
    Luke's LB HG hex
    Insulation
    HG TQ/UQ
    Suspension
    SlingRings/Straps
    Images
    Start with gettin rid of the stock rope and s hook or carabiner. Whoopie slings larksheaded into the channels is pretty light. I also cut off the strap and buckle clips from the attatched stuff sack. I left the stuff sack to put my head lamp and glasses in while it's hung. Trail sticks are always available for toggles.
    "He who makes a beast of himself, gets rid of the pain of being a man." Dr. Hunter S. Thompson

Please check out the link below to show your love for hammocks!www.zazzle.com/hammocklife

Hammock
    HH Exped Asym
    Insulation
    DIY Down UQ
    Suspension
    Whoopies