Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Irritated with Missouri State Parks, need help!

I am new to hammocks, but not to camping and backpacking. I am hooked by the way. Generally I prefer camping off of trails, but sometimes it is nice to just drive to a campground, with a cooler and other niceties, and then go on day hikes, knowing a cold beverage waits at the end

In excitement of using my new hammock on all my outdoor trips, I called Missouri state parks to make sure there were not any issues. To my surprise, they said that hanging anything from trees in a campground is prohibited. How frustrating and unfair! It seems like a person can drive in a huge RV with satellite dishes hanging off, and motorcycles fixed to the back, but I cannot even hang an environmentally friendly hammock between two trees. WTH!

I apologize for coming out of the gate venting, as a new member, but this kind of thing gets me worked up. It has previously irritated me that on MO land, they only allow backpacker's to build fires in designated camping spots and fire pits, whereas federal land allows more freedom, which is the whole reason we are out there in the first place.

But all venting aside. Has anyone ever had success in getting policies changed regarding hammocks. Perhaps through a petition and/or educating the state park administrators regarding the benefits of hammock camping?

Thanks

-E

Hammock
    DIY, WBBB & Switchback
    Tarp
    HG cuben,OES Spinn
    Insulation
    DIY 3/4 UQ/TQ, UGQ
    Suspension
    Dynaglide / Dutch
    Images
    You'll get a lot of sympathy here in Florida because we can't have hammocks in State Parks either.

On the good side. State Parks are where most of the RV campers go and I'm trying to get away from "civilization", so I guess it kind of works itself out in a weird way.
    Mike
    "Life is a Project!"

Hammock
    Warbonnet ON!
    Tarp
    SuperFly or MacCat
    Insulation
    Yetis & Mambas
    Suspension
    Webbing and rings
    Images