Learned my lesson

I had kind of a funky setup. From each end of my hammock, I had a doubled up piece of paracord tied to a 1' long piece of 1" webbing that had a cam buckle at the end.

On the head end there was a 16' long ratchet strap wrapped around a tree and run through the cam buckle. On the foot end there was a 16' long piece of the same type of webbing I had used on the hammock, wrapped around a tree and run through the cam buckle.

I had bought the webbing off of ebay (huge mistake) to save some money. I have been using this setup for about 2 months, mostly just setting up in the back yard for a few hours reading a book and chilling with the dog. The little mutt loves to hang, comes running every time she sees me getting ready to set it up.

Over the weekend I went through my normal routine: Pull everything out, inspect the suspension for any signs of wear, set up the hammock, check for any rips or tears from storage or claw marks from the last time the dog was hanging with me, put the dog in, put myself in, enjoy.

My biggest concern has been the cam buckles. They dig into the straps and were marring up the ratchet strap, but the webbing didn't really show any signs of wear.

After about 20 minutes I heard a twang, a snap, and all of a sudden my back was on fire. I have broken my back 3 times so this was a major concern. It didn't feel like I had broken it again but any back trauma at this point is very bad and could possibly cause further damage to my spinal cord.

I checked on the dog who was panting happily and acting like she wanted to do it again. "Can I still feel my legs? Check. Can I feel my feet? Check. Can I wiggle my toes? Check. Can I get up? Um, I think I'll just lay here and moan a bit."