WB BlackBird DL 1.1, HH Scout
    Tarp
    Modified Chinook
    Insulation
    UQ Incubator 20'
    Suspension
    Dutch & WBBB setup

Newbie here

Well, here goes......what is the cost difference in making one compared to buying one? I know the it all depends on what your buying and making but whats an average price difference? New to hammocks and only tried to sleep in one for an hour (yes that was enough to convince me to buy a hammock) until it started pouring raining (no it didnt have a rainfly-wasnt mine) it was just put up to show the new Boy Scouts what it looks like.

I can sew and I am pretty good at making my own stuff. I have been cruising the forum and there are tons of tutorials. If I am able to make one which tutorials (options) do I really want.
    P.S. If I'm gonna spend the money then I'm going to do it right. Basically all or most of the best bells and whistles.

Thanks

Hammock
    WBBB/TR, DIY, HH, SB DL, GT UL
    Tarp
    ID/OES/WB/WL
    Insulation
    HG/WB/Go-Lite/WB
    Suspension
    Whoopie/Straps/DW
    Images
    Not sure what we are discussing but I'll take a stab. If its a hammock - especially single layer without bugnet - these are easy and fun to make. For the time I put into it and the material cost I believe I saved some but mostly had a good time. when incorporating a bugnet, it becomes more complicated (especially for me) and I would look harder at some deals or the sale forum. For TQ's and UQ's, I tend to do these so I can learn and make them closer to my spec rather than save money. Hope this helps!
    The key to immortality is first living a life worth remembering. - St. Augustine

Some people feel the rain. Others just get wet.
    - Bob Marley

Hammock
    WBRR & WBBB
    Tarp
    Custom Old Man Win
    Insulation
    My fat butt
    Suspension
    My kids