Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

First time in Rainforest, what is best?

Hi everyone.
    This is my first time on this forum and I must say that your knowledge is incredible! I've been reading posts for the last 2 hours now and I keep getting surprised!

Now here's my deal: I'm planning a 4 months trip in Ecuador, which will include a lot of survival in the rainforest! After months of research, almost all my gear is complete except for one major part : the hammock!
    I've been reading a lot about this (on your forum and other sources) and there seems to be some good choices out there.

I've finally got between the Hennessy Deep Jungle Asym Zip (http://hennessyhammock.com/catalog/s...ngle_asym_zip/) and the Clark Tropical 2 (http://www.junglehammock.com/models/tropical/index.php)

I was wondering if any of you could give me some of your thoughts about those hammocks, and which one you think would be better for the rainforest! Do you think the hennesy Radiant Heat Reflecting DoubleBubble Pad going to make me more protected against bites? I must say that one of my biggest concern is getting my back bitten while I'm sleeping! I also like quick and simple. I've heard good reviews on both, and they're about the same prize! That's what makes my choice a little hard!

Thank you very much!

Hammock
    Dream Hammock
    Tarp
    HG Cuben Camo
    Insulation
    HG Incubator
    Suspension
    Whoopies
    Welcome DomQc. I'm not sure about how much you plan on traveling with it. So, would weight be a factor or not? Most people find that with a double layer hammock, you won't have a bite through. For example, a Warbonnet double 1.1 has a double layer of 1.1 ripstop on bottom.