Hammock
    WB Blackbird SL 1.1
    Tarp
    Mamajamba, Diamond
    Insulation
    HG Incubator 20*
    Suspension
    Amsteel SRS

Short or long UQ (with no pad at 45F+, usually 50F)?

Hello,

I'm new to hammocks and planning to buy Hennessy Hyperlight. I'm planning to stay in it at summer nights when temperature might go down to 40F (but usually 55F), also it can be rainy and wet for few days. More important that for some reason I will not take any pad with me, so I will rely only on UQ+TQ (I will have my clothes too to use it for insulation if needed :-)).

I'm pretty sure with TQ (JRB Sierra Stealth), but can't choose between Mt. Washington 3 (77") and Greylock 3 (3/4, 52") as my UQ.

Can you help me with that? :-)
    1. Is overlapping between footbox (what is it length, btw? 30 inches?) and end of Greylock enough to save warmth? Or anyway is it better to take Mt. Washington 3 and do not worry?
    2. Is this set of two quilts enough?

And two more questions:
    1. If I'll stay under small rainfly (like Hyperlite Rainfly), should I think about water protected UQ?
    2. Now I'm looking only for JRB quilts, but maybe I missing something?
    Last edited by Roma; 03-27-2012 at 05:28.

Hammock
    TTTM single
    Tarp
    MacCat Ultra
    Insulation
    sleeping bag
    Suspension
    rope and straps
    I guess You must go with full UQ if You want to ose it withoun any additional pads.
    I do not have first hand experience at this time but as of reading HF and The ultimate hang, I understood those ideas.
    Welcome To the HF! I think that You are first hanger in HF from Russia and You can check this thread, that's the same as I from Latvia at this time only one hanger.
    Last edited by J.Andersons; 03-25-2012 at 16:44. Reason: Found that Roma are from neighboring country.
    Ride fast
    Live fun

Hammock
    Martian Bridge (DIY)
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by J.Andersons View Post