Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hammock recs for long-term stationary camping?

Hey all,

Forum newbie here (hi!) looking for some last-minute advice.

I'll be heading off to do a farm internship in rural Australia in a couple weeks, and will be camping out for ten weeks on the property to do so. Unfortunately I flogged all my camping gear last year during a move overseas, so I have to get new stuff for the trip.

Not a huge fan of tents (all that bending over, crawling about, and hiding in cramped spaces just ain't really my thing - much prefer high, open places), so I was just going to buy something cheap online and get by how I could...until a few days ago I remembered my first hammock camping experience last autumn in the mountains outside Tokyo. Used my friend's old HH Expedition (or Scout?) and had an awesome time, excepting a bit of cold butt syndrome at night (didn't use a pad or UQ, and probably shouldn't have set up right next to running water). Have been flurrying to research hammocks since and stumbled across the amazing resource that is this site.

I've read a lot of info here (including the newbie hammock setup thread) and watched a bunch of youtube videos, and I think I'm getting close to a decision, but I wanted to ask y'all's opinions first if I could, since (1) hammock tech seems to be evolving extremely rapidly, so I don't know to what degree reviews and such from a couple years back are already obsolete, and (2) I haven't seen many comments about using a hammock as a stationary set-up for an extended period of time.

My constraints are:
    -Durability and relative comfort (break-down mid-stay would be unpleasant)
    -Warm down to 40-50 degrees at night deeper into the Oz autumn (w/ relatively cold sleeper)
    -Probable mosquitos
    -Comfort for hanging around (e.g. doubling easily as a chair)
    -Not exactly an ultralight hiker, but prefer lower weight/bulk if possible