Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

How accurate is Golite's down quilt ratings?

Hey guys, looking at getting a 1+ season quilt from golite, Im just wondering if anyone could chime in on how accurate the rating of 40 degrees Fahrenheit is? Cheers.
    PS- Any un-obvious tips on pushing the rating of it would help!

Images
    my 20 degree works great. been to 16 with it, but everybody is different.
    it should perform as well as a good 40 degree of another brand.
    "Tenting is equivalent to a bum crawling into a cardboard box, hammocking is an art" KK

Hammock
    WBRR, 35 inch dogbones
    Tarp
    WL Tadpole/OMWintr
    Insulation
    UGQ/HG/AHE
    Suspension
    Whoops/Dutch Bling
    Images
    I think Go Lite is more than sufficient with their temp ratings..I have a 40 degree down quilt of theirs and its super warm. It also has a nice baffling system and quite filled with down. Looks like a 20 degree model to me and works way below 40.
    2nd CAG, CAP 2-1-5 5th Marines, 1st Mar. Div.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Combined_Action_Program

Cheers guys! I expect the LOWEST nights where I hike to be approx 30 degrees and roughly 45 degree nights most hikes.
    I'm really glad that they baffled the quilts instead of sewing them through, much more efficient.

Images
    A couple of years back, there was some discussion around as to if the Ultra 20 TQ was quite up to that rating or not. It was rated for 2.5" single layer loft- or maybe it was rated to 5" if you had it set up double layer like a sleeping bag. But some folks seemed to think that rating- for both loft and temp- was at least a bit optimistic.