Tarp
    MacCat Deluxe
    Insulation
    Phoenix UQ
    Suspension
    whoopies

Grand Trunk Skeeter Ultralight for Newbie

Hi there,

New to hammock camping. I backpack quite a bit in the northeast. Currently use a UL tent and in the areas I go flat spots are hard to find unless it is a designated area. Thus...I am here

I have never used a hammock before and was trying to get a cheap, yet good setup for warm weather to try things out. I definitely need a mosquito net and a tarp. I'd like to just take a plunge and get a WBBB double 1.1 and an edge tarp but can't justify the cost right now. I don't sew and don't have a lot of free time so DIY is not for me right now.

I read through a thread here about starter kits of various prices and it led me to here:

What do you think of this as a starter hammock that would meet my needs? I am 5'6, 168 lbs

http://store.grandtrunkgoods.com/ult...beeter-hammock

What would be a good, cheap tarp that would cover the hammock and give me a little bit of extra space? What would I need in the way of guylines, stakes, etc to make the whole kit work?

I am also willing to upgrade the suspension for a few bucks to something that makes the whole design as fast and idiot proof as possible.

Any suggestions are welcome.

Thanks,

Neil

Hammock
    Switchback/Speer/T-Bird/WBBB/Lt Owl
    Tarp
    SF/CF/Cldburst/Oge
    Insulation
    Incub/Buro/Snugfit
    Suspension
    Cinch Straps
    You could get the Skeeter Beeter and a Kelty Noah 9 tarp and be set pretty inexpensively. You will have to also invest in tree straps and a better suspension. Also, for not much more you can probably get a Hennessey that includes everything.
    I suggest you do lots of research before you purchase. The for sale section here is a great place to get a good set up. Just keep your eyes open.
    "No whining in the woods"

Hammock
    WWM or tablecloth
    Tarp
    SuperFly
    Insulation
    shamu 40*
    Suspension
    UCR whoopie
    Images