Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Seeking Opinions.

Hey all,

I am new to the whole hammock camping thing. I am looking to get some gear and I have a couple setups in mind. I just wanted to get your opinions on what might be the better option.

Warbonnet Setup
    Hammock: Traveler Double Layer 1.7oz (Olive Green)
    Suspension: Adjustable webbing
    Tarp: Mamajamba w/panel pulls - Silnylon (Olive Brown)
    Netting: Travel Net

ENO Setup (OneLink w/SingleNest)
    Hammock: SingleNest
    Suspension: Atlas Straps (Hopefully not nylon)
    Tarp: ProFly
    Netting: Guardian BugNet

Hennesy Hammock Setup
    Hammock: Explorer Deluxe Asym Zip
    Suspension: 96" Webbing Straps
    Tarp: Hex Rainfly 70D Polyester
    Netting: Attached (Non-Removable)

First, is there anything that I should change in any of these setups?

Second, which would you recommend? Feel free to go "off the board" and suggest something else completely, I'm all ears at this point.

I'm assuming that Warbonnet is the way to go, from what I have read, but I wanted to make sure in case I missed something.

Thanks.

Hammock
    Dutch netless 9ft
    Tarp
    Zpack cuben
    Insulation
    Phoenix UQ/ JRB TQ
    Suspension
    mule tape
    Car camping, backpacking... is weight a concern? If you think weight is going to be an issue, go light now.

I don't see any bottom insulation listed, does that mean you'll be using a pad? In that case the WB double layer would be best (my guess, having never seen one in the wild). My first hammock was the HH Hyperlight (bottom entry), I quickly added an undercover and a pad.
    "A bore is a man who deprives you of solitude without providing you with company." Gian Vincenzo Gravina (1664 - 1718)

Hammock
    NX-150 TX-150
    Tarp
    Vertex-Camo
    Insulation
    Z-Liner & DIY Pads
    Suspension
    Clark
    Quote Originally Posted by 1EagleEye1 View Post
    Hey all,

I am new to the whole hammock camping thing. I am looking to get some gear . . .