Home Made
    Tarp
    BCUSA 10x10 Tan
    Insulation
    working on a UQ
    Suspension
    switch to whoopie

Question GI military pad

I Know it's been asked about, But I'm very new to Ham mocking . Is there any thing I should do to the pad? (Cut,add) Thanks for Your in put.

Many will say you should get rid of it.

But if it's what you've got to work with, then make it work.
    Best way to figure out what works for you it trial/error.

Seeing as how you said 'cut' I'm assuming you have a closed cell foamy (ccf)?
    most will offer that you should 'add' a SPE-supplemental pad extender - basically Red Bull for your pad "gives you wings..."
    If on the other hand you have the milspec ThermaRest there's only so much you can safely do to that, but it all comes back to the SPE.
    How do you tell it works? simple, you're not cold, and you're not wet (sweat). Personally I also have to consider if I will wake with pinched nerves with/without a mat of some sort - I can't do a naked hammock, I'll wake every morning unable to feel my feet even after several hours of hiking
    We all know of the original "Walk off the war" thru-hike - but, check out these guys, they're helping folks 'walk off the war' today -
    Donate to help fund gear for the warriors who are coming back home and need help walking off the war!
    WarriorHike.com

Hammock
    Home Made
    Tarp
    BCUSA 10x10 Tan
    Insulation
    working on a UQ
    Suspension
    switch to whoopie
    WetRivrRat What is a good Mat then? Pocket is tight But Like to find something Nice? any idea's ?? Thanks For You Time to help Mines alot!

Hammock
    DD Travel
    Tarp
    DD XL Tarp
    Suspension
    Factory.

Neo-Air

I like the neo air. I am a big guy 275 and I can sleep without a pad but once I used the neo air it was a done deal. It's about $120.00 the light version but I just saved twenty bucks a week in an envelope until I hit $140.00.

Hammock
    Home Made
    Tarp
    BCUSA 10x10 Tan
    Insulation