Hammock
    Darien UL/Roaming Gnome
    Tarp
    HG Cuben Fiber
    Insulation
    HG UQ/TQ's
    Suspension
    Dutch speed hooks

Buying a 2nd hammock so someone will come with me? Advice...

Okay, this may sound strange but even though I'm a newbie myself, I'm already thinking of buying a 2nd hammock setup so I can get folks to come with me. Sound a bit pathetic doesn't it...but you have to do what you have to do right?
    My one son came with me a few times in a one man tent but didn't like that too much. I think he'd enjoy it more if he were in a hammock like me. And if I had a 2nd setup I could invite friends to try it and we wouldn't have to be finding a place for their tents. Ever been where I'm at?
    So I'm thinking of a 2nd system that's inexpensive but still quality. My thought was to get a BIAS weenie weight but with a double layer. I'll add 1/4" closed cell foam to that for insulation. Then get their buginator net and I'll set it up with whoopie slings and tree straps using a martin hitch so it sets up just like mine. For a tarp I'll use my original Hennessey tarp that I have since I upgraded to an Edge tarp.
    Seems like a decent setup I'd be happy to sleep in, good price point, and it would keep a friend/my son comfortable. It may not be as warm as my Phoenix under quilt but I don't want to put that much money into it.
    Any thoughts or advice?
    Thanks
    Gideon

Hammock
    DIY
    Images
    You'll find you're not as green a newbie as you think. Be prepared to spend extra time setting up your companion's hammock and/or teaching them how. Either way, allow more time in camp. On the plus side, you will have more hang options because you won't need to find a flat spot for a tent, too. And you're sharing a great way to sleep in the wilderness.

(Friends don't let friends get CBS. )

That is the best way I can think of to get a hanging buddy. Next job is to see that he enjoys it so much he wants to get his own rig. Happy hanging.

Hammock