Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Let's talk about winter weather in this thread

Now, I don't really have a specific question here. I've just never done a long hike in winter weather, and the thought of getting caught in a 10degF or below storm is a little scary to me. I'm also very new to hammocks, and uncertain how to camp when there aren't trees around.

I'm thinking the Southern winter while backpacking, not alpine or Maine in January.

How do you guys handle the "worst case" scenarios? I'm most afraid of these two situations:

Stormy and windy, snow, around 10degF. With and without available trees.
    Stormy and windy, freezing rain, around ~25degF. With and without available trees.

So far, this is all I have: DIY 3-layer IX UQ, 12'x12' GG tarp, a good 10degF sleeping bag for TQ, a whoppie-sling suspension set-up, and a simple gathered end hammock.

I'm thinking of making a hammock sock as well, but I haven't found a good tutorial on here. Is there one that I've overlooked? And is a hammock sock that essential for these temperatures? Or would I be just fine like I am, if I added some kind of pad or space blanket to the set-up.

Hammock
    Martian Bridge (DIY)
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by behappy View Post

How do you guys handle the "worst case" scenarios? I'm most afraid of these two situations:

Stormy and windy, snow, around 10degF. With and without available trees.
    Stormy and windy, freezing rain, around ~25degF. With and without available trees.

So far, this is all I have: DIY 3-layer IX UQ, 12'x12' GG tarp, a good 10degF sleeping bag for TQ, a whoppie-sling suspension set-up, and a simple gathered end hammock.
    Part of your two scenarios above is resolved easily by hiking in areas that have suitable trees to hang your hammock. (I know smart *** answer, but it's true). If you stick to the Appalachian Trail you shouldn't have a problem finding places to hang your hammock.