Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

UQ or TQ First???

I have some old MIL-SPEC sleeping bags laying around: 1 green patrol bag and 2 heavy weight black bags. I'm working on getting gear together for a section hike on the AT and was considering repurposing my bags as under quilts and top quilts, but was wondering which one is more important initially for a summer hang in Virginia? A TQ or UQ?

Part of me says that a UQ b/c of draft, etc over my elevated backside
    but I'm a noob and I'm always looking for suggestions...

Thanks!

Hammock
    DreamHammock Darien
    Tarp
    UGQ Hanger 12
    Insulation
    UGQ TQ, HG UQ
    Suspension
    Whoopie Hook
    Images
    If you're talking about modifying the bags, start with the UQ, as a regular bag can be used as a TQ without any structural modifications, just unzip it and use it as a blanket.

Quote Originally Posted by lilricky View Post
    If you're talking about modifying the bags, start with the UQ, as a regular bag can be used as a TQ without any structural modifications, just unzip it and use it as a blanket.
    Wow, that was quick!!! Thanks!

Hammock
    Dream Hammock Sparrow
    Tarp
    WBSF
    Insulation
    DIY
    Suspension
    Cinch Buckles
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by lilricky View Post
    +1

I was going to say the same thing. I use my sleeping bag unzipped down to the footbox. Just recently purchased a UQ (since I don't own equipment to make my own mods) and felt it was higher on the specialized equipment list

Hammock
    DIY Gathered End
    Tarp
    DIY Asym
    Insulation
    DIY Modular Quilt
    Suspension
    Whoopies/MSH
    Images
    What lilricky said.