Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Net or no Net?

Lightbulb Net or no Net?

I have been Backpacking for many years, but am just starting to switch over to ultra-light backpacking. I am currently looking at the Ultralight Backpacker Asym from Hennessey, and i see that Tom has started to make some hammocks without nets and i was wondering what peoples general input are for these hammocks without nets.

Are the bugs too bad (I live in Squamish, BC, Canada) or are they bearable for most of the year?

They are MUCH cheaper and that was the real draw as didn't want to spend too much on this.

Any input would be apreciated,
    Thanks,
    Last edited by Dizodax; 10-24-2008 at 13:00.

Hammock
    Dream Hammock ThunderBird
    Tarp
    Zpack Cuben 7X9
    Insulation
    JRBSierraSniveller
    Suspension
    ring buckle system
    Images
    If I read your post correctly, what you are looking at is a hammock without a tarp, which is the same thing as a fly. The bug net is built in. The bottom entry doesn't make much sense without a bug net. Many people will buy a Hennessey Hammock without the fly or tarp so they can use their own tarp.

Hammock
    Hennessey summer, lightest winter
    Tarp
    JRB 10x11 in skins
    Insulation
    JRB MW3 & SierraSv
    Images
    I have a Hennessey Explorer during bug season, because its netting is bombproof and there are no zippers or Velcro tabs to mess with or break, and usually use a HAAB (a double-sized Treehugger, same as an ENO or Treklight) without a net when the bugs are gone (mid-Fall through early Spring) because it's the lightest option (one pound six ounces including suspension). I tried a Claytor no-net for winter, but it was heavier and not as comfortable, though if I didn't have a Big Agnes sleeping bag I'd like that pad sleeve, I reckon. The same tarp (currently a JRB 11x10) works for any hammock.

I guess what I'm trying to say it, one size may not fit all here; tailor the tools to the terrain, if you get my meaning.