Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Newbie... Hyperlite v. Deep Jungle

I am new to your world, and would like to give hangin' a try. Based on my location (Florida), and the fact that we have a good amount of bugs here, I am considerin' the Deep Jungle as an option (double layer = skeeter free livin' apparently...?) I am also weighing the possibility of a Hyperlite, most notably the ability to add the super-shelter if I desire (and about one pound less weight).

Can anyone help me in my decision here... do I go Hyperlite and just add another layer or spray with permethrin when the skeeters are thick, or do I go with the Deep Jungle and add layers or retrofit something when it gets cooler...? OR do I consider a completely different model (or manufacturer) for that matter.

Certainly may end up with multiple hammocks in the future, but would like to get the most versatile that I can for starters.

Images
    FYI - the supershelter will fit the Deep Jungle, just get the correct size (# 1 for Deep Jungle; # 2 for Deep Jungle XL).

Thank you Roche. I was on the phone with HH earlier today... besides their web-site specifically stating (on the Deep Jungle description) that they recommend not going with the DJ for four-season, the sales person confirmed that as well... are they not telling the whole story?

Hammock
    wbrr/d i y speer
    Tarp
    hg 4sccc 12 foot
    Insulation
    lynx/w/logics
    Suspension
    straps /pole mod
    i have a slightly used 7 month old survivor in digital camo with tarp id sell for 250.its bottom entry.pm me if interested

Hammock
    WBB
    Tarp
    HG Cuben
    Insulation
    Baby Orca/Klymit
    Suspension
    straps/c buckles
    Images
    I used the hyperlite on the entire AT.
    Not once in 6 months did I ever have a mosquito problem.