Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Joining the DD party - any wisdom to share?

I've just received (very quick) delivery of my DD travel Hammock with whoopie sling suspension kit and XL tarp.

I'm planning to use it while touring UK and Europe on my motorbike next summer; so I have plenty time to get used to it/modify it etc.

I'm off to plunder this forum for information about getting the right hang, installing an internal ridge line, tarp setup for bivvy mode etc, modifications, etc etc

Any suggestions on these topics, general hints and tips from other DD users or even recommendations of beautiful places/good biking roads to visit in Europe would be much appreciated here as well

I might add that I'm a complete newbie.

Not just to hammock camping but to any form of camping! So, anything you know is likely to be useful =D)

Dan

Hammock
    DD Camping Hammock
    I would start by ensuring you have a good sleeping bag and some form of ground/underhammock insultation as laying in a hammock compressed the bottom of the sleeping bag giving you CBS....cold butt syndrome

Hammock
    DH Raven/SLD Trail lair
    Tarp
    UGQ WD/SLD Asym
    Insulation
    HG UQ/TQ
    Suspension
    DutchBuckle &Sling
    You can use a pad with the hammock as well. I've only been in mine once since I got it. But as soon as I can escape for a weekend i plan to sleep for 36 hours straight in it!!!!
    When the wife asks, I simply say "Shug made me do it".

Hammock
    Warbonnet Ridgerunner DL
    Tarp
    DD 3x3
    Insulation
    Klymit Pad/EE TQ
    Suspension
    web and buckles
    The only modifications I made to my Frontline were to add a couple of eyelets on each side to use as tie-outs to help spread the hammock - seemed like a good idea but I have never used them. I like the 'hug'.