Portland Oregon local learning about hanging

Hey I'm new to backpacking and since I'm a bit of a hobby geek I got interested in ultralight really quick. I'm 6'2" 190 lbs so my gear is a little heavier by default. When I started looking at getting a quilt to replace my sleeping bag Tim over at enlightened equipment mentioned that he's been hanging for 3 seasons and has gotten the best backcountry sleep since he was a kid.

This got my mind stuck on the idea of a hammock and at first glance the set up looked like more weight than I wanted to be carrying. On the other hand I kept thinking about how nice it would be to have a peaceful night sleep out in the woods. After looking further into set ups I decided to order a HH Hyperlight from REI to give it a try. If I don't really like it then I'll send it back. I'd also like to give a WBBB a shot.

Only down side for me is I do most of my trips with my girlfriend and while she is also down to give hanging a try I'm sure she's going to miss snuggling in a tent. Hopefully she likes the good sleep she gets in a hammock or I might end up on the ground when I'm out with her.

-Loki

Hammock
    INSULHAMMOCK
    Tarp
    DIY
    Insulation
    INSULHAMMOCK
    Suspension
    I was expelled
    Images
    welcome from east tenn. my gal "lunchbox" and i make it work, maybe ya'll can to, Im workin on a DIY double so we can get together. happy hangin
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Ignorance is simply not knowing, Stupidity is knowing and not doing. "Stupidity should be painful"

"Have you ever stood and stared at it, marveled at its beauty, its genius? Billions of people just living out their lives oblivious" Agent Smith, The Matrix

Please leave suggestions and comments on our H.O.C.
    http://www.hammockforums.net/forum/s...ad.php?t=57721

Come check out our Creation
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7uw7-XGKnDU

Insulhammock
    http://camping-hammock.us/

Hammock
    HH Explorer UL with Mod 4
    Tarp