Tarp
    CubenWinter Palace
    Insulation
    Down TQ, UQ
    Suspension
    single ring
    Images

Single Ring Suspension

As a NOOb I was dissatisfied with the aluminum triangle things that were on the webbing strap suspension on my WBBB. So like so many others here I decided to give Whoopies a try. I thought they were an improvement, but I didn't like the fact that the shortest you could get them adjusted to was around 12 inches or so. Then I looked at all the Grizzly Adams videos that were Sticky's and saw this one where he made an adjustable sliding ring suspension that eliminated the part that could not be shortened. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IGRAnzEoXZI

So I tried the Sliding Ring Suspension but found that it wasn't easy to tie a good knot with Amsteel on the ring that wouldn't slip. So then I thought, why use a knot at all? Why not just run the the line back under it's self thru the three loops that go around the ring? I tried that and it worked really well, and it changed the suspension so that now the ring wouldn't slide, but the line could be slid up or down under the loops to adjust the length. When there is tension on the lines the three loops around the ring act sort of like a Prussik and clamp the other end of the line to the ring. No matter how hard I try I can't make it slip, but by releasing tension it's easy to adjust the length. Just to be safe it's probably good to back it up with a slippery half hitch.

I put a Whoopie Hook on the loop on the end of my line and connect that to a loop on the hammock so I can easily disconnect my hammock from the suspension. But it could be connected right to the hammock just like in Grizzlies video. Or the ring can initially be placed anywhere on the line to make the whole rig longer or shorter before adjusting just like the sliding ring.

I don't know if this has been tried before, but I like to call this a Single Ring
    Suspension, (SRS).
    Attached Images Attached Images

Hammock
    WB, JRB, WL