Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Big Agnes Sleep Systems

Hi, I am very new to hammock camping. I have spent only 4 nights in my ENO doublenest. I have Big Agnes zero degree bag and am looking at getting a either an insulated sleeping pad to slip in to the bag's pad sleeve or an under quilt. Any suggestions or recommendations would be much apprecitated!

Depends on how you like to lay in the hammock. If you like the way it lays now without any pad or air mattress under you, then wait until you can get a quilt.

A foam pad OR mattress will completely change the feel of the hammock underneath you.

I personally LIKE an air mattress as it mostly does away with calf ridge pressure and I don't need a pillow.

YMMV

Hammock
    DIY Digi Camo DL
    Tarp
    Maxi Tarp
    Insulation
    Underquilts Lewis
    Suspension
    Rings and Straps
    Images
    I used a BA Encampment and insulated air core pad for a couple years before going to an UQ. It work ok. The pad was a bit small width wise but very doable. I just let the pad deflate about half and it conformed to my hammock.

You can also sew 4 small tabs on your bag and make it into an UQ. I just did this out of curiosity and was surprised at how well it worked. Here's a picture of it from last night. I didn't add anything to the sleeve as it was thick enough. My feet went into the pocket it made on the left side of the picture- I have a WBBB.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Hammock
    Hammock Bliss No See-um
    Tarp
    Kelty Noah 9
    Insulation
    Big Ol Sleepin'bag
    Suspension
    cheap 1" straps