Wife Made
    Tarp
    Wife Made
    Insulation
    Wife Made
    Suspension
    Whoopie

RR for Backpacking?

How many of you RR owners use your RRs for backpacking as opposed to car camping? I get the impression a lot of people only car camp. I bought it as a backpacking set up, but it seems heavy. Wondering if I should be looking at bivvies instead. Gathered end hammocks and I just don't get a long.

Hammock
    WBBB XLC DL 1.1
    Tarp
    Superfly, OES, HG
    Insulation
    Hammock Gear
    Suspension
    Stock
    Images
    I use it for backpacking, can't even tell the difference on my back switching to this hammock. I can tell a difference in the way I sleep though!!

Hammock
    WL, WB, Clark stuff
    Images
    Hey guys, newbie here. I backpacked with the RR Friday and Sat., had no problem. Might be a little heavier, but is worth it because it is soooo comfortable.
    BTW, got down to 23 in the closest town to where i was camping, so it was probably in the teens where I was. Had 2 pads and space blanket in pad slot, I got chilled about 4AM, so I started 2 hand warmers in my bag, slept like baby the rest of the night.

The RR is not a heavy setup, (at least for me). The only difference in the RR and a gather end hammock, is the RR has the extra poles to carry but If you use hiking poles you can use them on the RR so it's no difference..

Hammock
    Wife Made
    Tarp
    Wife Made
    Insulation
    Wife Made
    Suspension
    Whoopie
    Quote Originally Posted by outdoorsguy View Post
    Hey guys, newbie here. I backpacked with the RR Friday and Sat., had no problem. Might be a little heavier, but is worth it because it is soooo comfortable.
    BTW, got down to 23 in the closest town to where i was camping, so it was probably in the teens where I was. Had 2 pads and space blanket in pad slot, I got chilled about 4AM, so I started 2 hand warmers in my bag, slept like baby the rest of the night.