Tarp
    Custom OES
    Insulation
    DIM UQ NoSniv TQ
    Suspension
    JRB Triglide/strap
    Images

How long have you been hanging?

As sort of an off shoot of the " how did Hammock Forums start Grandpa? " topic. And I was curious about myself.

I first started questioning about hammocks around Jan of 04, finally Feb of 06 Hammock Engineer came over & let me test hang his HH, 3/3/06 I took delivery of my first camping hammock: a Bayer mosquito traveller, & I was hooked. Which is odd because I never did get the hang of the Bayer right. I now think I could, but the Bayer is now assorted stuff sacks & accessory cord. Yet, I have never once looked back, & now a hammock is my primary bed, at home & even at work.
    SO, I have been hanging for almost 3 years. Much less I am sure than many here, but still it may be fun to know how long everyone has been "Swinging from the trees".

On a personal note: I wish I hadn't put it off for so long! It took over 2 years from interest to exicution, 2 years I could have been camping in comfort. No excuses, I just kept putting it off, after all, "I had a perfectly good backpacking tent & had been sleeping on the ground nearly 50 years, so why change now?"
    When you have a backpack on, no matter where you are, you’re home.
    PAIN is INEVITABLE. MISERY is OPTIONAL.

Hammock
    JRB Bear Mtn. Bridge
    Tarp
    BlackCat/JRB 11x10
    Insulation
    Pad(s)/JRB Quilts
    Images
    Around 2.5 years
    "Every day above ground is a good day"

Hammock
    Warbonnet BB XLC 1.7, Traveler S1.7
    Tarp
    Cuben DIY
    Insulation
    Hammockgear
    Suspension
    whoopie slings
    Images
    About 8 yrs ago, I stumbled across the HH website and ordered one (the original Exped version, I think). The first time out camping, 30*F WITH NO UNDER INSULATION! One of the coldest nites I've ever had (only one colder, I was hypothermic)
    I used it off/on for the next 7 yrs (mostly off) and only in the summer!