Hammock
    HH Explorer Deluxe
    Tarp
    Hex
    Insulation
    survival tubes
    Images

cocoon temperatures

In cold weather, most hammockers utilize some sort of cocoon / layering system to stay warm. The survival tube cocoon that I've developed seems to provide a 20 degree difference between the outside and inside temperatures (ie. when it's 38 degrees F outside, inside the cocoon it's about 58-59 degrees F). Since I'm new to using a cocoon, I'm wondering if this is a good / typical spread.

Hammock
    Bridgeskin
    Tarp
    DIY Blackcat
    Insulation
    DIY Quilts
    Suspension
    Whoopie sling
    Images
    20 degrees is excellent. I think 10 degrees is typical. So the question comes to mind, "where's the pictures?". I would think to get 20* you would have to have just the right conditions such as no wind, wind proof fabric, and it would have to be very dry air so you don't get condensation. So where's the pictures?
    Peace Dutch
    GA>ME 2003

www.MakeYourGear.com
    http://dutchwaregear.com[/URL]
    Visit Dutchwaregear on facebook (and like it)
    Check us out on Twitter @dutchwaregear

Hammock
    HH Explorer Deluxe
    Tarp
    Hex
    Insulation
    survival tubes
    Images

pictures coming

I'll upload some more pictures tomorrow. The tube material stops any wind penetration. I've added a thin window to the top of the cocoon to allow any condensation buildup to escape. The reflective interior of the tube apparently returns most of my heat, thereby making the 20* difference possible. I've also added 2 inexpensive ponchos to each end of the hammock to prevent wind from those angles.

Hammock
    It's a Secret.
    Tarp
    BWDD Winter Dream
    Insulation
    Crowsnest
    Suspension
    Slings
    Images
    You've peaked my interest. Looking forward to more details.

Hammock
    Warbonnet ON!
    Tarp
    SuperFly or MacCat
    Insulation
    Yetis & Mambas
    Suspension
    Webbing and rings
    Images
    Pictures!
    Pictures!