Stability Comparison

Hello,

This is my first time posting (outside the brief intro post I did). I did some searching on this but I haven't found anything on this topic. If there is a thread or threads that answer this then feel free to direct me there.

I'm doing research to make a first hammock. I'm confident enough with my sewing skills to make either one, but I'm short on money while I'm in school so I'd like to just have to make one for a while here.

I know that the gathered end hammocks are much more stable than the stereotypical flat 'rope' hammocks that are on post cards. I've read here and elsewhere that a lower hang helps keep a gathered hammock stable because it lowers the center of gravity.

What I'd like to know is what is the difference is stability between a bridge hammock (such as the GrizzBridge) and a gathered end hammock? How do they differ in high winds as well as for those who move around a lot when they sleep?

Any help is appreciated!

Hammock
    WWM or tablecloth
    Tarp
    SuperFly
    Insulation
    shamu 40*
    Suspension
    UCR whoopie
    Images
    I know that short of flat rolling out of one you pretty much can't flip a gathered end... I have no experience in bridges so I can't comment there...

Sewing is not necessary to make a hammock... There is a way to make one for less than 20 bucks if you diy it...

http://www.hammockforums.net/forum/s...ad.php?t=62832
    Live, Laugh, Love, if that doesn't work. Load, Aim and Fire, repeat as necessary...

Buy, Try, Learn, Repeat

Hammock
    WBRR
    Tarp
    Superfly
    Insulation
    Lynx/Quilts
    Suspension
    Straps
    Images
    I have both a gathered end (Blackbird) and bridge (RidgeRunner). The gathered end certainly feels more stable, although I've never been concerned about flipping either.