Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hammock
    ENO DN
    Insulation
    UGQ 0° UQ
    Suspension
    amsteel mishmash

UGQ OMG (unexpected night in new 0° Zeppelin)

I just got a 0° Zeppelin with draft collars and resist down from Paul at Underground Quilts.

I'm pretty new to the hammock thing and although I winter hike, snowshoe, and summertime camp, I have never done any cold weather camping. Hubby has the heat down to 66 in the house and I'm cold in bed every night to give you an idea of how not warm I sleep.

Last night on a whim I decided to try out the new underquilt outside for a few minutes to see where my cold spots were and figure out what I needed to adjust. All I brought out was my ENO double nest, the underquilt, a summer weight down sleeping bag from the 60s, a little fuzzy throw blanket, and my pillow. I got everything set up, jumped in and whoa... warm.

There was no cold coming in from below or the sides. The heat I was losing through my wimpy top layers wasn't enough to chill me. Super surprised, I took off my jacket... Still warm. In fact a little too warm, so I took off my wool socks. Mind you this is with no tarp, no sock or shelter, no fancy topquilt. I figured I was mostly just warm from running around hooking stuff up so I decided to stay for a while. Although the weather was completely clear I could feel the moisture condensing out of the air onto my stuff. My sleeping bag was definitely getting moist but the moisture froze as frost on the outside of the UQ.

I pulled the fur front of my trapper hat down over my eyes and nose and pulled the blanket up over my chin and promptly fell asleep uncannily warm and toasty.