Henny Asym
    Tarp
    Hex-Cat Tarp
    Insulation
    Down
    Suspension
    Adjustable Slings

Lightbulb UCH Version 2.0 Prototype Hammock Mockup

That's "Unnecessarily Complicated Hammock," and I've finally got the initial setup pinned together for test fitting and reinforcement. It at least looks a lot cooler than the first prototype

I'm an engineer, by trade, so generally I hate unecessarily complicated designs. But as a home-tinkerer, I find them an endless source of amusement . I came up with this idea a couple years ago, and even made an initial prototype when I was getting out of college, but got distracted for a few years . The idea is to get a hammock with two support points to approximate the "lay" of a Lay-z-boy recliner

Prototype 1

The first design was totally functional, and comfortable once inside. But, it was too snug in the shoulder openings, which made getting in/out a bit of a gymnastics challenge; you can only get out by doing a sit up while pulling your arms back . This time, I left the shoulder-relief cutouts much larger and I''ve incorporated a "bottom entry" type opening that doubles as a support for the seperate foot/leg boxes. I also reworked the suspension/load paths a bunch from the original design (which was basically a convoluted bridge hammock). Before, the tension supporting the upper spine went right through the "head basket" to the support cables, and squeezed my head annoyingly.