Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

why not para cord?

I will start by saying hello cuz this is my first post on here but i have been reading the forum for quite a while now . I am an outdoorsman so to speak but have never messed with hammocks until now.

Just wondering what are the negatives of using para cord as suspension lines? I am brand new to hammocking but i have used a paracord prusik to make my hammock adjustable 2 times now and it seems to hold me fine. So i am wondering if maybe it doesnt hold up well or something like that?

Images
    it's not nearly strong enough and since it's nylon it will stretch alot more than polyester which is similar strength per weight but with alot less stretch

you'd want something with a tensile strength of over 1000 LBS, probably something closer to 1500 especially if you plan on tying knots in it

your best choices will be braided dyneema for cord (something like 7/64" amsteel blue) and polyester for webbing (1500-2000 LBS tensile for webbing)

Hammock
    Eno Dn, Sn, DIY "Ahote"
    Tarp
    DIY soon
    Insulation
    Pad
    Suspension
    Whoopie and straps
    I've been victim to the stretch of the paracord, especially when the stuff gets wet. I'm converting all my gear from paracord to amsteel. I never had any issues with the paracord failing, just needed more adjustments.

Welcome aboard, prepare for a new addiction.
    Enjoy life's journey, but leave no tracks...

Mahna Mahna...

"The more we hang, the more we have to leave in the end" -Gresh

Hammock
    Warbonnet Blackbird 1.7
    Tarp
    Zpacks Cuben Fiber
    Insulation
    Leigh's UQ
    Suspension
    Whoopies/Treestrap
    Listen to Warbonnetguy he knows what he's talking about.
    Terry

Hammock
    WBRR, Lots of DIY
    Tarp
    MacCat; Cloudburst
    Insulation
    Lynx, HG T/UQ, AHE
    Suspension
    Varies

Images
    Plus, it really soaks up a lot of water when it rains.

Suspension
    haven't decided