Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Hammock
    Warbonnet Blackbird 1oz Dual Layer
    Tarp
    Big Mamajamba
    Suspension
    Adjustable Webbing

Keeping feet warm?

I wasn't sure where to throw this thread, so I figured the general forum would be alright.

In any event, my question is regarding keeping my feet warmer at night.

I got a Hammock Gear Incubator underquilt a little over a week ago (20deg rating with their most overstuffing they offer). I have to say it works out GREAT as best I can tell. My top insulation is a 0deg The North Face Superlite sleeping bag. The sleeping bag has been my staple cold weather bag for a few years and has always served me well.

My hammock hanging started maybe 2 years ago, so I am still relatively new to the game.

That having been said, until last weekend I used pads as bottom insulation and knew from the get-go that I had to do something different. Last weekend and this weekend I put my new system to the test. The first night last weekend (over a 2 day backpacking trip) the temps got to the mid to low 30's at night, with a LOT of wind. Generally speaking I was quite warm at night, except for my feet. When I got up in the morning (didn't bother crawling out except when I had to go to the bathroom at around 1:00am) I inspected my set up to see if I could reason why my feet were cold. It appeared the underquilt was a bit too far towards my head end and it skipped the foot box on my Blackbird hammock. So I kept this in mind for this weekend.

Friday night I set up the hammock, camping trip so no hiking this weekend, and when I set the underquilt I paid close attention to how it fit the hammock - ensuring that the entire foot box was enclosed. I moved the underquilt so it was covering what I wanted.