Tarp
    Superfly
    Insulation
    HG 20, KAQ 1, Lynx
    Suspension
    Webbing / buckles
    Images

First post and just wondering why...

I see posts where you guys are wearing lots of layers and down in addition to UQ's and TQ's at temps in the 20-30 deg range. Are the extra layers of clothes needed at these temps? Since this is my first post you can see I have NO EXPERIENCE in a hammock. I know it is comparing apples and razor blades but I have never even found it necessary to zip up my 20 deg down bag when ground sleeping (with a thermarest pad) and wearing a tshirt, flannel pj pants, and no socks at those temps and even lower. I am not sure I can or want to sleep wrapped up like a 7 layer burrito. I know you guys up near the Arctic Circle need that but what about in the South. Do you guys in the SE do this?

Images
    It depends upon the individual; some are "warm" sleepers while others are "cold", even using identical gear. Backyard hanging is a great way to find out what works for you.

Hammock
    WBRR
    Tarp
    Superfly
    Insulation
    Lynx/Quilts
    Suspension
    Straps
    Images
    Also depends on the gear choice. Someone who has a 20* UQ/TQ almost never needs to layer at temps in the 30's (unless they are a very cold sleeper). Almost all gear made by our cottage vendors are accurate at their temp ratings for the average person with very little clothing layering.

Some, however, buy UQ/TQ rated at 40* due to weight, size or because most of their camping is done in warmer temps. Then, when it does drop colder, they'll layer up.
    Brian
    Denver, CO
    Father. Husband. Scoutmaster.

Hammock
    WBXLC, WBBB, LiteOwl
    Tarp
    Superfly, MambaJam
    Insulation
    HG Phoenix, WL Sum
    Suspension
    Webbing, Whoopies
    Images
    Welcome aboard Deadwood

As others have said, it depends on wether you are a hot or cold sleeper.